MEETING NOTES OF THE UNIVERSITY FACILITIES PLANNING BOARD August 11, 2015

Members Present: Nancy Cornwell – Chair, Walt Banziger – Co-Chair, Jeff Butler, Brenda York, Chris

Fastnow, Neil Jorgensen, Kurt Blunck, Allyson Brekke

Proxy: Jeff Butler for Bob Lashaway; Victoria Drummond for Renee Reijo Pera and Michael

Everts

Members Absent: Brett Gunnink, Martha Potvin, Dana Dale, Fatih Rifki, Charles Boyer, David Singel, Tom

Stump, Julie Tatarka

Staff & Guests: Randy Stephens, Aaron Britton, Bob Brekke, Pat Simmons, Candace Mastel

The University Facilities Planning Board met beginning at 3:30 pm to discuss the following:

ITEM No. 1 – Approval of Meeting Notes

Blunck moved to approve the meeting notes from July 14, 2015. Butler seconded the motion. The meeting notes were approved unanimously.

ITEM No. 2 – Executive Committee Report

There was no action from the Executive Committee to report.

ITEM No. 3 – Consent Agenda – No Items

ITEM No. 4 - RECOMMENDATION - Montana Hall Lights

Aaron Britton presented the design for decorative celebratory lights on the exterior of Montana Hall, a project requested by President Cruzado. These could be turned on for special events throughout the year. These are LED rope lights that will be permanently installed on the eaves of the roof, the ridges and cupola. Stephens commented that the design takes into account being sensitive to the building, and the State Historic Preservation Office has been consulted. York asked how future requests like this would be addressed; they would be reviewed on a case by case basis.

Banziger read Everts' proxy as the following "I do not approve the following recommendation to add eave lights to Montana Hall. The idea of holiday lights enhancing the celebratory presence of Montana Hall is a great idea, however the specific light scheme, strings of individual lights at eaves, is more common in residential and various retail applications. I would support an alternate strategy of strategically placing surface flood lights that highlight the unique and historically significant features of the building of Montana Hall."

Allyson Brekke agreed with Everts' comments and added that this proposal does not abide with the City of Bozeman Lighting Standards and the Zoning Ordinance. MSU is exempt from the City Zoning Ordinance, but does try to respect the zoning codes, especially on campus perimeter properties.

Post Meeting Note: Joe Shaw was consulted and gave his approval to proceed with the light installation.

Fastnow moved to approve the lighting display as presented. Blunck seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The vote:

Yes: 9

No: 2 (Everts, Brekke)

<u>ITEM No. 4 – RECOMMENDATION</u> – College of Agriculture/MAES – Industrial Communications 2-way Radio Antenna System

Candace Mastel presented the proposal for the installation of a 2-way radio antenna system on the rooftop grain legs of the Agriculture feed mill on the Bart Farm. The Telecommunications Antenna Committee (TAC) has approved

p:\ufpb\meeting notes\2015 meeting notes\08 august\meeting notes 08-11-2015.docx

this proposal. FCC has been consulted and the licensed frequencies are okay to use. Placing the antenna on the existing structure is also safe, and would be provided for and maintained by Industrial Communications and Electronics Company (ICE). The standards for installation will be followed. The intention of this system is to improve the communication on Bart Farm and between other areas.

Butler moved to approve the proposal. York seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The vote:

Yes: 11 No: 0

This meeting was adjourned at 4:05p.m.

VCD:lsb

PC:

President Cruzado Adam Arlint, President's Office Maggie Hammett, President's Office Julie Heard, Provost's Office ASMSU President Diane Heck, VP Admin & Finance Heidi Gagnon, VP Admin & Finance Jennifer Joyce, VP Student Success Linda LaCrone, VP Research Office Tony Campeau, Registrar Robert Putzke, MSU Police Becky McMillan, Auxiliaries Services Julie Kipfer, Communications Jody Barney, College of Agriculture Susan Fraser, College of Agriculture Robin Happel, College of Agriculture Halina Rickman, College of Business Victoria Drummond, Campus PDC