## MEETING NOTES OF THE UNIVERSITY FACILITES PLANNING BOARD April 13, 2010

Members Present: Susan Agre-Kippenhan - Chair, Walt Banziger, Jim Becker, Blake Bjornson – ASMSU,

Boyd for Fedock, Jeff Butler, Brad Garnick, Mandy Hansen, Lashaway for Roloff, Mary

Miles, Jim Rimpau

Members Absent: Kurt Blunck, Allyson Bristor, Michael Everts, Jeffrey Jacobsen, Tom McCoy, Tom

Stump, Jim Thull, Allen Yarnell, Brenda York

**Guests:** Sarah Biddle and Orion Thornton, IPS (Independent Power Systems); Dan Stevenson,

**Facilities Services** 

The University Facilities Planning Board met beginning at 3:30 pm to discuss the following:

## ITEM No. 1 – Approval of Meeting Notes

Blake Bjornson moved to approve the meeting notes from March 30, 2010. Garnick seconded the motion. The meeting notes were approved unanimously with the following edit: In the first sentence of Item No. 4, permanent construction entrance is replaced with permanent public entrance.

#### ITEM No. 2 – Executive Committee Report

There was no action from the Executive Committee to report.

#### ITEM No. 3 - Consent Agenda - None

### <u>ITEM No. 4 – Recommendation</u> – Strand Union Solar Panel Array

Dan Stevenson introduced the request for approval the concept of the addition of a five kilowatt solar array to the south entrance of the SUB. It will meet the campus standard and tie-in to the electrical panel in the Admissions Conference room.

There will be an inverter in the hallway with a locked Plexiglas case will display activity and be accessible to classes. Blake Bjornson explained that there will also be a television in the hallway displaying informative slides about the system, renewable energy, how to get involved on campus, and thanking sponsors: MSU President - \$2,000, ASMSU - \$10,000, Campus Sustainability Advisory Council (CSAC) - \$2,000, Network of Environmentally Conscious Organizations (NECO) - \$500, and College of Engineering – unknown amount; and the remainder will be paid by grants from the Northwestern Energy Universal Systems Benefit (USB) grant. The total cost is estimated to be approximately \$35,258.50.

The project was initiated for educational purposes, not to offset energy. The life of the system is 50 years, and there is a ten year warranty. A manual and training will be offered to Facilities personnel. Auxiliary Services will assume responsibility for repairs when the warranty expires. Tom Stump supports the project.

Robert Lashaway made the motion to approve the concept of installing solar panels in the proposed location with details, color, fastening and structural to be reviewed by the University Architect. Mary Miles seconded the motion; it was approved as follows:

Yes: 12 including the proxy votes of Kurt Blunck and Brenda York

No:

Abstain: 1- Blake Bjornson

### ITEM No. 5 - Follow-up Discussion - Campus Heritage Plan - Review and Discuss

Walt Banziger opened the discussion with the April 13, 2010, draft *Heritage Buildings and Sites Policy* (attached). The draft is based on heritage plans used in New Mexico and Arizona. Once 50 years old, a building, site, structure, landscape or an object that is significant in American history or Montanan history qualifies as heritage property and may be listed by the State Historic Preservation Office. The only Heritage Building on campus is the Heating Plant and is in the State Register, but not the National Register.

The UFPB will have a two-week window to review the draft before the vote. The UFPB is the sponsor of this policy and will make a recommendation to the president.

This meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m. The next meeting (April 27<sup>th</sup>) will be at Gaines Hall for a tour.

# VCD:da

pc: Waded Cruzado, President

ASMSU President

Jody Barney, Budget and Fiscal Director, Office of Dean and Director

Patricia Chansley, Assistant to the Provost

Cathy Conover, Vice President, Communications & Public Affairs

Victoria Drummond, Associate Planner

Lisa Duffey, Assistant to the Dean of Agriculture

Heidi Gagnon, Assistant to the Vice President, Administration & Finance

Diane Heck, Administrative Associate, Provost

Jennifer Joyce, Assistant to the Vice President for Planning and CIO

Linda LaCrone, Assistant to the Vice President for Research, Creativity and Technology

Shari McCoy, Assistant to the President

Becky McMillan, Administrative Associate, Auxiliary Services

Kathleen McPherson-Glynn, Assistant to the Dean, Arts and Architecture

Charles Nelson, Registrar and Director of Admissions

Robert Putzke, Director, MSU Police