MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY FACILITES PLANNING BOARD July 22, 2008

Members Present: Walt Banziger, Kurt Blunck, Allyson Bristor, Jeff Butler, Shane Colvin - ASMSU,

Michael Everts, Mandy Hansen, Mary Miles, Jim Thull, Brenda York

Members Absent: Susan Agre-Kippenhan - Chair, Scott Davis, Dave Dooley, Brad Garnick, Mark

Pernarowski, Jim Rimpau, Tom Stump, Allen Yarnell

Members Represented: LaCrone for McCoy; Lashaway for Roloff, Lisa Duffy for Jeff Jacobson

Guests: Candace Mastel, Planning; Loras O'Toole, Facilities; Robert Putzke, University Police

Walt Banziger chaired the meeting in the absence of Susan Agre-Kippenhan-Chair.

The University Planning Board met beginning at 3:30 pm to discuss the following:

ITEM No. 1 – APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Jeff Butler moved to approve the minutes from July 8, 2008, and Mandy Hansen seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

ITEM No. 2 – Executive Committee Report

There was no action from the executive committees to report.

ITEM No. 3 – Recommendation –Continued Review of Bike Pad Locations

Candace Mastel continued her presentation of the Review of Bike Pad Locations by including additional drawings, pictures of suggested locations and information per the request of UFPB members at the July 8th meeting. Ten sites were chosen; sites A as a first choice locations and B as an alternate in case of site restraints such as lamp posts, utilities or sloping grass. The placement was based on the Davis Bike Plan which placed the racks in relation to the entrance of the buildings. Placement within 10 to 20 feet is acceptable.

After looking at different ground materials, it was decided that pavers were preferable to loose materials or concrete. If the pad was moved, the pavers could be reused and it would allow the infiltration of water. The double pads will measure about 10'X16' for a double rack with a 2' space to allow for mowing and will hold 12 to 14 bikes.

Jeff Butler would prefer a double pad in front of Roberts instead of Romney. Walt Banziger stated that Roberts, Cobleigh and EPS are already heavily served by bike racks, and that the focus was placed on the other buildings during this first go round.

Mike Everts suggested that the "B" alternates be removed from the plan, leaving only the "A" locations for placement of the pads.

Bob Lashaway moved to accept the drawing as shown, deleting the "B" locations, deleting the "A" location at Romney and inserting an "A" location at Roberts. Jim Thull seconded the motion. It was then decided that at Roberts the A would be placed in a manner that allows additional symmetrical placement at a later date. The motion passed unanimously.

ITEM No. 4 – Recommendation – Campus Emergency Phone Locations

Loras O'Toole introduced the recommendation. There are nine locations in the first phase. The phone systems are intended for emergency (auto-dial to Campus Police 911 system) and non-emergency functions (auto-dial to Campus Police for escort, directions, etc.).

The phone systems will be enclosed in a steel tower about twelve inches square by nine feet tall, with blue beacon on top. The towers will be anchored on a concrete slab or pier, adjacent to existing sidewalks, parking lots, or other hard-surfaces for easy access by wheel-chair and pedestrians. The phone systems will be cellular, and most will be powered by solar cells. The locations were generated by Brenda York, Robert Putzke, Melanie Stocks, Kurt Blunck, Candace Mastel, Jon Ford,

Page 1

UFPB MINUTES 2008-07-22-draft

UFPB MINUTES 10/2/2008

Loras O'Toole, Bob Lashaway, Tom Stump, and Walt Banziger. The towers have already been purchased and will be installed as soon as practical. An educational program has been planned.

Mike Everts suggested that location number one be moved closer to the Chemistry Building and location number four a little closer to the SUB. Loras O'Toole thought there would be no structural difficulties to inhibit the location changes.

Kurt Blunck moved to accept the locations with the agreed changes. Brenda York seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>ITEM No. 5 – Informational –South 7th Street Restricted Access to Campus</u>
Jeff Butler gave the informational presentation. The South 7th Street access to the mall is restricted to fire and other emergency responder access. The status of restricted entry is not currently being changed; however, restriction will be more physically apparent with the installation of bollards and a chain gate. The gate is a temporary feature that will enforce the vehicle restriction while the impacts of a permanent solution are studied.

ITEM No. 6 – Approval- Appointments to Sculpture Committee

Walt Banziger introduced the approval request to approve one, two, or all three nominees to the Sculpture Committee. The UFPB is authorized to approve recommendations to sub-committees. As a sub-committee, the Sculpture Committee does not have a set membership limit; however, for some time it has sought interested individuals with an art background as volunteer members. The committee evaluates public art proposals and related policies to place sculptures and art work on and around campus public spaces and exterior locations. The current Sculpture Committee members are Jim Thull, Mandy Hansen, Walt Banziger, Jaynee Groseth and Victoria Drummond.

The current composition of the committee satisfies the only membership requirement (i.e. two representatives from UFPB) – therefore the UFPB may consider appointing all three nominees. The three nominees sent to the Dean of Arts and Architecture from the art community and MSU school of Art are as follows:

1. Member at-large:

Tate Chamberlin is an art alumni and organizer of Art Crossing. Art Crossing is an exhibit of outdoor sculpture that will be placed around downtown Bozeman for a year.

- 2. Faculty member endorsed by the school of art:
 - Nelleke Beltjens (sculpture faculty)
- 3. Faculty member endorsed by the school of art: Josh DeWeese (new ceramic faculty – was adjunct last year)

Currently there is no student representation on the committee. Walt Banziger suggested that Shane Colvin make the student appointment at a later date.

Allison Bristor made the motion to approve all three nominees. Jim Thull seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

This meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna Abel, Administrative Associate Planning, Design and Construction

Geoffrey Gamble, President pc:

ASMSU President

Al Bertelsen, Director, Strand Union

Patricia Chansley, Assistant to the Provost

Cathy Conover, Vice President, Communications & Public Affairs

Lisa Duffy, Assistant to the Dean of Agriculture

Victoria Drummond, Associate Planner

Joseph Fedock, Senior Vice Provost

Heidi Gagnon, Assistant to the Vice President, Administration & Finance

Page 2

UFPB MINUTES 2008-07-22-draft

UFPB MINUTES 10/2/2008

Mandy Hansen, Financial Aid Officer

Linda LaCrone, Assistant to the Vice President for Research, Creativity and Technology

Donna LaRue, Assistant MSU Chief of Police

Glenn Lewis, Assistant to Vice President for Student Affairs

Shari McCoy, Assistant to the President

Becky McMillan, Administrative Associate, Auxiliary Services

Charles Nelson, Registrar and Director of Admissions

Robert Putzke, Director, MSU Police

Jennifer Joyce, Assistant to the Vice President for Planning and CIO

Jody Barney, Budget and Fiscal Director, Office of Agricultural Experiment Stations