MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY FACILITIES PLANNING BOARD June 26, 2007

Members Present:	Rimpau, Drummond, Garnick, Miles, Thull, Butler, Lashaway, Banziger, Stump, Hansen, Duffey
Members Absent:	Dooley, Johnson, Rutherford (ASMSU), Burns, Jacobsen, Llewellyn, Roloff, Sharrock, Yarnell
Members Excused:	York, McIlhattan
Members Represented:	LaCrone for McCoy
Guests:	

The University Planning Board met beginning at 3:30 pm, to discuss the following:

ITEM No. 1 - APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes from the June 12, 2007 meeting were approved one correction, that McCoy be changed from "Absent" to "Excused".

ITEM No. 2 - EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT

• The Executive Committee did not meet this week.

ITEM No. 3 - NAMING COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION FOR BSL-2 & BSL-3

- Victoria Drummond presented the Naming Committee's recommendation for the BSL-2 and BSL-3.
 - o BSL-2: Johnson Family Livestock Facility
 - o BSL-3: John Jutila Research Facility
- The naming committee did not have quorum when they met, but the Foundation was represented. However, the Naming Committee did recommend support for both name requests.
- Lashaway noted that the Naming Policy would be modified in the near future to better integrate with the Regent's policy.
 - The Foundation (Connie Talbott) proposed they take over responsibility for reviewing and recommending Building and Space naming as this is a fundraising function, thus doing away with the Naming Committee. The President's Executive Committee would handle approving naming future buildings. This would allow the University's policy to be consistent with the Regent's naming policy.
 - He also noted that UFPB would still be reviewing the design and look of future signage, plaques, and displays associated with the naming gifts/honors.
- Rimpau noted that the Provost would like Connie Talbott to be involved in the naming process.
- Lashaway suggested that the naming of BSL-2 and BSL-3 be tabled until it has been run through the process again to ensure Talbott's approval. He also noted that this will likely be the last building UFPB will partake in naming, due to the pending policy change.
- Butler noted that future consideration should be given to naming and design issues that address the ability to fit names of buildings on the signage.

UFPB MINUTES Last printed 3/22/2008

- Lashaway suggested asking Mark Quinn to condense names (Jutila Research Facility, Johnson Livestock Facility).
- All agreed to table this issue to allow FPDC to pursue additional information requested by Provost.

NON-AGENDA ITEM No. 14 – HERRICK HALL SCREEN VOTE

At the June 12, 2007 meeting, UFPB voted to approve the screen samples brought forth by Scott Stroh. However, it was realized after adjournment that quorum had not been met. To alleviate this issue, the Executive Committee met after the June 26, 2007 UFPB meeting adjourned.

They unanimously approved the UFPB committee's decision. The screens presented by Stroh are recommended for use on Herrick Hall.

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Amanda V. Mead, For Walter Banziger, Director-Planning, Design & Construction

Geoffrey Gamble, President pc: Al Bertelsen, Director, Strand Union Patricia Chansley, Assistant to the Provost Cathy Conover, Director, Communications & Public Affairs Victoria Drummond, Associate Planner Lisa Duffey, Assistant to the Dean, College of Agriculture/Agricultural Experiment Station Michael Everts, Assistant Professor of Architecture Joseph Fedock, Senior Vice-Provost Heidi Gagnon, Assistant to the Vice President, Administration & Finance Mandy Hansen, Financial Aid Officer Linda LaCrone, Assistant to the Vice President for Research Donna LaRue, Assistant Chief, University Police Glenn Lewis, Assistant to Vice President for Student Affairs Anne McBee, Administrative Associate, Planning Design & Construction Shari McCoy, Assistant to the President Becky McMillan, Administrative Associate, Auxiliary Services Charles Nelson, Registrar and Director of Admissions Robert Putzke, Director, University Police Madeline Rogers, Assistant to the Chief Information Officer Connie Shelhamer, Budget and Fiscal Director, Office of Agricultural Experiment Stations Scott Stroh, Interim University Architect ASMSU President